The other baby

I know that those of you reading this blog (at least, these days) are mostly interested in updates about Alon.  Which I completely understand – he is quite a cute kid (not that I’m biased or anything) and it’s definitely fun to see pictures and videos of his interactions with the world.

Still, those of you who are long-time readers may remember that the blog was originally a vehicle for Neil and I to share information about our research endeavors around the world.  So I thought it only fitting to post a picture here of my other baby.  No, this is not a pregnancy announcement.  I am referring to my dissertation – recently completed, and defended this week.  It’s not nearly as cute as Alon, but on the other hand, it became a part of my life years before Alon was even a figment of my imagination.  Here it is in all of its printed glory:

photo-5Neil, Alon and I flew to Bloomington IN for my defense, and all three of us have been enjoying being here.  I’ve been able to have a few reunions with friends (and introduce Alon to their kids), Neil has reconnected with some colleagues at a conference this week, and Alon has discovered the joys of Bloomington playgrounds. Seriously, the parks and playgrounds here put Nyack to shame big time.  He is plugging for us to apply for positions at Indiana University so he can continue to explore the many slides in this town (and he has become quite the slide expert).  I can’t say I haven’t thought about it – Bloomington is a pretty awesome place, aside from the slides, too.

Oh, who am I kidding? I can’t add a post to this blog without including at least one picture of Alon.  Here he is, smug and happy at the playground this morning – and finally wearing his hat.  Enjoy!

photo-3

3 thoughts on “The other baby

  1. BeccasMom

    Congratulations!!! What an accomplishment…..and, I’m sure, an impressive work. That is wonderful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

